(Lecture by Master Sheng-yen on Surangama Sutra on April 26, 1987.) Some of the basic terminology used in Buddhism In general and the Surangama Sutra specifically, includes the six sense organs (eye, ear, nose, tongue, body, mind), the six sense objects (what is seen, heard, smelled, tasted, felt, and thought), and the six associated sense consciousnesses. All together these comprise what is called the 18 realms. more